top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew McSwain

2023 ROPE Award Recipients

The Robert and Janice McNair Educational Foundation recently announced the recipients of the 2023 ROPE (Reaching for One’s Potential for Excellence) Award. 46 seniors from Chase High School, 48 seniors from East Rutherford High School, and 60 seniors from R-S Central High School were selected to receive the ROPE Award this year, receiving a total of $1,310,000.

The ROPE Award is given annually to students who have taken challenging classes, made good grades, served the community, demonstrated upstanding character at school and in the community, and overcome obstacles to reach for their potential. ROPE Award recipients are selected by the ROPE Award Teacher Advisory Council consisting of teachers from the high school and feeder middle and elementary schools.

To be eligible to apply for the ROPE Award, students must maintain a 3.0 weighted grade point average (GPA), meet the University of North Carolina system’s admissions requirements, make at least a 1080 on the SAT or 19 on the ACT, or take a combination of the tests 2 times. They must also provide a minimum of 70 service learning hours to the community. Students can begin working towards the eligibility requirements the summer prior to their freshman year in high school.

The Foundation held a celebration to honor the 2023 ROPE Award recipients on Thursday, April 27. In addition to being recognized at the celebration and receiving a certificate, ROPE Award recipients are also eligible for financial aid of up to $8,000 for up to four years of postsecondary education.

The 2023 ROPE Award recipients are:

Silvia Adame-Sanchez, Izaiah Baynard, Christian Beaver, Mekayla Bradley, Henry Bright, Conner Burley, Asia Burns, Dina Chavez-Araujo, Ashton Cox, Taivon Derisma, Yurixi Elias Juarez, Abigail Fisher, Sara Fowler, Hayden Galloway, Jackson Gibson, Jackson Gowan, Maria-Thereza Gualberto, Cameran Hamrick, Cayden Holland, Bonnie Jackson, Merritt Jones, Blaire Keller, Kinsley King, Brennen Kingery, Cameron Leverette, Andres Leyva, Marqies McCombs, Reagan McCranie, Morgyn McDaniel, Hannah McHargue, Lucas McKinney, Cariss McWhirter, Madisen Miller, Kensley Mode, Kyle Morrow, Abagail Norris, Khaliah Rankins, Isaac Rollins, Kacey Ruppe, Delfina Sebastian, Emma Taylor, Jackelyn Vargas, Jada Walker, Mason White, Devyn Wicks, Michael Wilson, Alfredo Aleman-Galvan, Emily Alexander, Chloe Bolt, Kelden Bostic, Heidi Bowen, Oriana Bradley, Chloey Butler, Ryan Butler, Madison Calton, Jimmy Causby, Kadance Chapman, Annie Cole, David Conner, Alexandra Day, Mackenzie Edwards, Parker Emery, Samantha Flack, Tyler Flack, Willa Gettys, Abigail Greene, Matthew Greene, Maggie Harrill, Amelia Harris, Joseph Hollifield, William Hoppes, Mason Huffstickler, Hannah Hurdt, Emily Koenig, Julia Lane, Ben Lavender, Isaac Lee, Sequoyah Lowrance, Maggie Marshall, Lukas McDaniel, Halle McFarland, Alana Melton, Emily Melton, Brooklyn Merck, Elias Roberts, Avery Russell, Jacob Shuford, Cailyn Spratt, Coleman Tisdale, Jarvis Twitty, Railey Van Dyke, Cindy Vasquez, Molly Waters, Kya Wilson, Luke Archer, Madison Bass, Macie Beheler, Sara Brooks, Eryn Brown, Haydn Bullman, Madison Buss, Ellianna Byrd, Lily Camp, Christopher Chambers, Carley Chapman, Katie Clontz, Julian Cole, Paige Condrey, Malachi Coston, Sydney Crain, Conner Croussore, Ella Crowe, Joel Gomez, Logan Harris, Rhianna Head, Jonathan Hill, Isaiah Hipp, Caydance Hodle, Haley Holden, Madeline Howell, Emily Huddleston, Elijah Hunter, Riley Johnson, Jack King, Jackson Knox, Jorga Lopez, Abigail Mason, Lilyana Mast, Owen McDaniel, Nicole Mercer, Hannah Newton, Dorothy Norris, Beth Owens, Emma Owens, M’Taya Owens, Madison Owens, Lydia Parton, Hayden Ridenhour, Jesilyn Rippy, Grace Rogers, Alexandra Sane, Audrey Scruggs, Trey Shearer, Gracie Shriner, Kaden Smith, Esmerelda Tapia Hernandez, Haley Walker, Lani Warren, Hayden Wheeler, Caleb White, Christian Wilson, Hayden Wilson, JJ Yacovelli, & Trinity Yelton.

Congratulations to the 2023 ROPE Award recipients.

134 views0 comments


bottom of page