top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew McSwain


The Robert and Janice McNair Educational Foundation recently announced the recipients of the 2021 ROPE (Reaching for One’s Potential for Excellence) Award. 37 seniors from Chase High School, 51 seniors from East Rutherford High School, and 46 seniors from R-S Central High School were selected to receive the ROPE Award this year, receiving a total of $1,150,000.

The ROPE Award is given annually to students who have taken challenging classes, made good grades, served the community, demonstrated upstanding character at school and in the community, and overcome obstacles to reach for their potential. ROPE Award recipients are selected by the ROPE Award Teacher Advisory Council consisting of teachers from the high school and feeder middle and elementary schools.

To be eligible to apply for the ROPE Award, students must maintain a 3.0 weighted grade point average (GPA), meet the University of North Carolina system’s admissions requirements, make at least a 920 on the SAT or 17 on the ACT, or take a combination of the tests 3 times. They must also provide a minimum of 100 service learning hours to the community. Students can begin working towards the eligibility requirements the summer prior to their freshman year in high school.

Over the past four years, the 134 recipients have provided over 10,000 service hours to the community.

The Foundation held a celebration at McNair Field in Forest City to honor the 2021 ROPE Award recipients on Saturday, May 15, 2021. In addition to being recognized at the banquet and receiving a certificate, ROPE Award recipients are also eligible for financial aid of up to $8,000 for up to four years of postsecondary education.

The 2021 ROPE Award recipients are:

Jesus Aleman-Morales, Diego Almaraz, Maggie Baynard, Courtney Beam, Jacie Blackard, Jenna Bridges, Delaney Brown, Nick Castrellon, Austin Chavez, Luz Chavez-Araugo, Jose Chavez-Hernandez, Caden Francis, Zachary Hall, Jonathan Hardin, David Harris, Marla Harris, Sophia Hatcher, Malea Hunter, Brianna Keeter, Erik Libera, Hannah Lowery, Megan Matheny, AshLynn Mathis, Jacob Mathis, Kiylan Miller, Jada Mosley, Jordan Prairie, Avrey Queen , Taylan Roach, Alice Sargent, Mia Turner, Gracie Vess, Cameron Walker, Kasey Waters, Seth Webb, Alexus Wilkins, Ethan Womick, Abigail Aleman, Daniel Bayley, Brennah Bolt , Ashlyn Bowen, Devoria Boykins, Nicholas Bray, Garrett Bridges, Kelcey Bridges, Kenzi Bridges, McCray Bright, Natalie Brock, Npeniyeh Burns, Carolyne Butler, Adrianna Castaneda, Francisco Chavez, Cassandra Collins, Kent Cooper, Angela Ekstrom, Hannah Elgin, Emma Greene, Kaylee Guffey, Jacob Hamrick, Rashel Hernandez, Valerie Herrera, Benjamin Hollifield, Matthew Hunt, Berkley Joyner, Adrienne Kelly, Alexandria Lankert, Emma Lovelace, Hannah Marshall, Bailey McCall, Jennalea Mitchell, Brieanna Moose, Matthew Mull, Chad Murray, Davion Murray, Emma Neal, Dawson Powell, Candice Price, Isaiah Queen, Allison Rubio-Malo, Mattison Spratt, Kimberly Suazo, Jillian Thorn, Erin Tooke, Janiah Tutt, Saniah Tutt, Walker Waters, Isabella Wilson, Riley Wood, Garry Ankrom, Savannah Bates, Isaiah Boone, Keeley Brown, Keeleigh Bush, Brock Byrd, Riley Carver, Chase Causby, Jose Chavez-Perez, William Dixon, Noah Flack, Christopher Fowler, Ashlyn Gibbs, Madison Gillie, Cameron Hill, Katlyn Holland, Michael Jolley, Edwin Lagos Rodriguez, Zachariah Lewis, Zachary Marshall, Xander Mathis, Chloe Newton, Vicky Ni, Hannah Owens, Melody Oxendine, Ella Parton, Michaela Parton, Zackery Porter, Chloe Price, Alexandra Ramsey , Brysen Rhoads, Andrew Roach, Ona Robertson, Emma Rogers, Jaiden Rogers, Malaki Ryan, Connor Settlemyre, Geof Skinner, Crystal Smith, Kael Snethen, Logan Striff, Kellee Towler, Christopher Upton, Katelyn Vassey, KayLee Whiteside, SamarriaWhitesides

Congratulations to the 2021 ROPE Award recipients.

655 views0 comments


bottom of page